Let’s Give it up for Mr Willie Earl Scott

Men and Women, boys and girls and everyone in between, its that time again for another author spotlight, so taking over my site this week is Willie Earl Scott, so let’s hear what he had to say when I put my questions to him:

 

The Rocky Rochford Author Interview Questionnaire:

Author: Willie Earl Scott

Your latest/current work: Heaven and Hell on Earth

Date: Out Now

Publisher: GlobalStorm LLC

  1. Tell us about your Latest Book/Book about to be released? Release Date? And can you give us a teaser?

My current book, Heaven and Hell On Earth, is a 160,000-word tome that I spent some four years writing and rewritting. It’s a philosophical urban thriller about two brothers, twins, separated and abandoned in two different cities after birth. Gabriel, taken in by the church on whose doorstep he was left, is a charismatic figure, a saint attempting to maneuver in a world filled with threats and demons. Lucifer, on the other hand, was raised by the streets. He is chief among hellions.

  1. What other books/short stories have you written?

I’ve only two books published on Kindle right now (Amazon removed two others do to what they labelled controversial content!).

Aside from Heaven and Hell On Earth, Candles Under The Crescent is another Kindle title of mine. I spent the past 15 years churning out all sorts of manuscripts in Europe, for myself as well as for others.

  1. Do you publish in e-book, print, or both?

I publish mainly in ebooks. Yet I have some really dangerous and shit-stirring Euro-printed books floating around out there somewhere. I plan to republish them all on Kindle this year.

  1. Where can readers find your books? (Purchase Links)

http://bit.ly/wes_hahoe

http://bit.ly/cucws

 

  1. What do you think are the biggest challenges for the type of writing that you do?

I think the biggest challenges of my type of writing is length. I’m very detailed and research-oriented about most things, and who has that kind of time nowadays to consider the joys and mysteries of life the way I like to explore them?

  1. How did you get started in writing?

I have been writing all my life. When you’re a tween coming up in the sorta

neighborhood (or hood rather, because nobody’s neighbors anymore!) that I grew up in years in juvie hall and maximum prison solicits the writing, a la Donald Goines, Jean Genet, Iceberg Slim.At age 25 (I was brought to Editions du Seuil, Paris, by famed editor Herve Hamon, who authored some two dozen Edition du Seuil books of his own and literally ran the place till he was forced out the following year. That same year, they hired a new guy from one of the big French magazines. Davis Jeambar, or Dennis Jeamber, (something like that), he was adamantly opposed to releasing a debut novel originally written for an English-speaking audience and by a scandalous 26-year-old black kid in the states with a firsthand degree in criminology.

So, in December of ’06, he had the company cancel my contract and returned my book, which to them was only a little over 2,000 in euros, but still. Merry Christmas.

  1. Where and How can readers get in touch with you?

Readers can inbox me on Facebook.https://www.facebook.com/pages/Willie-Earl-Scott/1441434146117303?fref=ts

  1. So with your latest work released/or being released, what comes next? What can we expect from you in the future?

This year I plan to release four epic titles. And you don’t just call your stuff epic because you can, nor can you pen such a book overnight. These things took years to write. I have just been sitting on them, hustling and making my money ghosting and whatnot.

  1. How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

I try very hard not to let my own personality seep into my writing, but still I will let the readers be the judge of that. But experience — experience is almost 50% of what I do. I’ll just leave that be. (laughing!)

  1. Do you have a set schedule for writing or do you just go with the flow?

A set schedule for writing? I’ll be honest, I haven’t written a full-length book in years. But I research and jot notes, plotlines, character thought/description/dialogue, ect everyday.

  1. What is your routine once you start writing a book?

No routine whatsoever. I write whenever I FEEL it. Which wasn’t always the case. I used to dutifully, like a job almost, just to eat.

  1. What about you in general? What is it that makes you tick? Makes you you? Things you like to do and what prompted you into writing?

I think in general though the money is important. I still need it to survive, to fight back when necessary and to keep the judiciary from stifling me with their stranglehold. Besides that, I love newspapers, geopolitics, theology. Oh, and collecting erotic classics.

  1. Among your own books, have you a favourite book? Favourite Hero or Heroine?

Among my own books, I think my favorite is between Heaven and Hell On Earth and Jezebel, which is due out this summer. One of the main characters, Jorja Garcia, is my favorite literary heroine, next to Scarlett O’Hare. In real life I much admire folk like Abe Lincoln, FDR, Marcus, Martin, Malcolm, Angela, Barack, Spiderman, the like.

 

  1. Where do you see yourself in five years?

In 5 years I hope to be #1 on somebody’s bestsellers list.

  1. What kind of research do you when writing one of your works?

I’m a research junkie, and never hesitate to challenge conventional wisdom, common assumption.

  1. What does your significant other think of your writing?

I have no significant other, and lost a few good women who felt that writing was my wife and they’d always play second to the story. I don’t know. I guess there is some truth in that. Not now though. So, ladies, gimme a holla. (laughing!)

  1. Do you ever ask them for advice or ideas to go into your works?

I get ideas from everywhere, people and places good, bad and ugly.

  1. Have you ever experienced Writer’s Block? If so how did you work through it?

Writer’s Block is a bitch but I work with her the best way I can. When it’s real difficult, I set the work aside, and relax my mind, sometimes get high just to get by.

 

  1. Who are some of your favourite authors to read?

Well, I reckon you know I love Donald Goines and Jean Genet, because I mentioned them. My favs are greats like Anais Nin and Sidney Sheldon. And anything published by old, oft-banned publishing legends Gallimard, Girodias of Olympia, Barney Rosset of Grove Press.

  1. Anything else you’d like to tell our readers?

I really want readers to know that I’m good. No, that I’m the truth! That I been robbed, spit on, left for death, forgotten, and that still ain’t stopped me. Why? Because in my heart I think I do it for y’all.

Additional question: Lastly do you have any words of encouragement for unpublished writers?

If I can tell unpublished authors anything it would be to don’t give up, and don’t write scared. I mean, don’t be traditional or conventional, and question everything, more often than not. And if folks disagree with your style, or even disagree with you, well, that’s fine too, so long as they tell others! (laughing!)

And sadly that brings us to the end of another spotlight, so to sign us off, I shall repeat the social media link, purchase links and of course, the cover art of the book, have a great weekend everyone:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Willie-Earl-Scott/1441434146117303?fref=ts

http://bit.ly/wes_hahoe

http://bit.ly/cucws

Heaven and Hell on Earth Book Cover
Leave a Reply

