The Next Best Thing Blog Tour – Blog Hop 2.0 – Spirit of Iris talk

Hello world,

Thanks to Vicki-Ann Bush, YA Paranormal Romance author, http://vickiannbush.blogspot.com

I have been invited to participate in an authors’ blog tour, which spotlights one of our current works in progress, an upcoming book or a current release, so with that out of the way, Let’s get right on to the questions.

1. What is your working title of your book (or story)? The Spirit of Iris is the title of released work, the first instalment of the Rise of the Elohim novels, (Elohim being the Jewish word for Watchers, Guardians), to which I have a series of 4 full length books currently planned.

2. Where did the idea come from for these books? As a Child, I have always been most interested in fantasy, first captivated by a series of dreams I used to have about a warrior by the name of Jacka-riah Jackal, whose sole duty was to defend an ancient kingdom and its Empress ruler, from hoards of monsters and beasts and then my brother got a Nintendo 64 and I played Ocarina of Time for the first time. Ever since my first quest with Link, I’ve been a huge fan of the Legend of Zelda series, and I played Final Fantasy X a couple of years later, which for me just sealed the deal and ever since this game, I always wanted to write something on the type of scale the stories of those video-games projected, so this was where the idea first started gathering momentum. Also because of that, with a deep love of Zelda, which did lead to me working on a number of Zelda parodies, I took to doing my own fantasy story, one that would see a young male protagonist take charge in a bid to free his home world from an ancient evil.

3. What genre do your books fall under? This particular work falls under YA Epic Fantasy adventure, however I am an author of multiple genres, from supernatural based thrillers, to psychological and Crime capers to espionage and even poetry. I’m not one to put all of his eggs into the one basket

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? I have pictured a film being made of my book, but every time I did picture it, I never actually pictured established actors, if film were possible, I would actually like to take a leap out of the Harry Potter method and use unknown actors, who could really flourish and grow into the roles as they make them their own. Mind you, a telepathic raven who is ever so wise, Stephen Fry would be a great contender to voice him.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Ever since Zach was a baby, he was trained for one thing, to save the world from an ancient evil, born from the darkest shadows and now that time has come to put what he’s learned to the test. The Battle for Oceania has Begun.

6. Will your book(s) be self-published or represented by an agency? My work is published by the absolutely brilliant Solstice Publishing, who except for Phoenix Rises my first novel, have published my every penned work since.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? The Spirit of Iris, was actually the quickest full length novel I ever wrote, and only took me a full 4 months to not just do the first draft, but first and second edits before I took to sending it off to a publisher.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? The closet book that I know of and read, that I could compare this to, is no doubt the Lord of the Rings, what with the setting of the world, the tone of story, and the depths and pulls of each character. A Chronicle of Chaos (Book 1 of the Light and Shadow Chonicles), by DM Cain, is another work I would compare this to.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book? I merely just decided it was time to stop thinking about writing the Zelda/Lord of the Rings type book that I’d been carrying around in my head for over a decade and to just write it. Plus I really fancied doing a project with an illustrator in an attempt to try and not just write a book, but a readable video-game.

Now with the end so close, let’s pay thanks to Marie Lavender who hosted Vicki and pay respects to the man that started this whole thing, Lois W. Stern http://tales2inspire.com

Coming very soon, some very interesting news, so be on the watch for that and a repost of this, containing links to other authors who got involved. Their links have yet to go live and be added to this post.

Have a great weekend folks

Leave a Reply

