Get Ready for the Awesomeness that is DM Cain

Taking over my blog today, is none other than the up and coming author DM Cain, she who penned both the Phoenix Project and The Chronicle of Chaos, the first installment of the Light and Shadow Chronicles. Not only is she busy with so much this year, such as writing, editing and more, but she’s also arranging the Get Down with the #Awethors event for the 12th of April. A must attend social media event for all book lovers, writers, publishers, bloggers, reviewers and more.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/awethors/?fref=ts

Now how about we her from her as we begin the spotlight:

The Rocky Rochford Author Interview Questionnaire:

Author: D.M. Cain

Your latest/current work: A Chronicle of Chaos (Book 1 of The Light and Shadow Chronicles)

Chronicle of Chaos

Date published: 23rd October 2014

Publisher: Kindle Direct Publishing (will be re-released in 2015 by Booktrope)

  1. Tell us about your Latest Book/Book about to be released? Release Date? And can you give us a teaser?

My most recent book to be released is A Chronicle of Chaos (The Light and Shadow Chronicles series). This is a YA epic fantasy with elements of m/m romance. It has angels, demons, epic battles and powerful magic. It is the ‘first’ book in The Light and Shadow Chronicles, but this is a misnomer because there really is no ‘Book One’. The books are written, and can be read, in any order. Each story takes a character or event and shows their part of the timeline. As such, readers can dip in and out of the books in any order, as they all lead to the same conclusion. Each book points towards the final battle at the end of the world – the apocalypse.

 

  1. What other books/short stories have you written?

My first novel was The Phoenix Project – a brutal dystopian thriller which played with themes of religion, crime, punishment and guilt.

 

  1. Do you publish in e-book, print, or both?

Both. I find that ebooks are more popular these days and there is a higher demand for them, however, there is no substitute for having a physical copy of your beloved baby in your hand J

 

  1. Where can readers find your books? (Purchase Links)

A Chronicle of Chaos: http://www.amazon.com/Chronicle-Chaos-Light-Shadow-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00NJ89B8M/

The Phoenix Project: http://www.amazon.com/Phoenix-Project-D-M-Cain-ebook/dp/B00K974TOM/

 

  1. What do you think are the biggest challenges for the type of writing that you do?

In The Phoenix Project, I had to get across a huge range of emotions believably and that was tricky. The protagonist, Raven, goes through anger, hatred, bitterness, isolation, remorse, guilt, friendship and love. Getting all of that to the reader was sometimes a challenge!

For A Chronicle of Chaos, writing the book itself was simple enough, however, as part of a larger series, I had to make sure that the plot and characters were solid and consistent. If anything was out of place, it could throw my whole series off balance!

 

  1. How did you get started in writing?

I’ve always written, for as long as I can remember. I planned my first books when I was around 11 years old but never actually got to writing until I was 18. That’s when I started working on The Phoenix Project, and it took me 10 years until I finished it! My writing process is now, thankfully, much quicker!

 

  1. Where and how can readers get in touch with you?

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/dmcain84

Twitter – https://twitter.com/DMCain84

Google+ – https://plus.google.com/+DMCain/posts

Websites – www.dmcain.co.uk www.dmcain84.com

Mailing List – http://eepurl.com/XevZH

 

  1. So with your latest work released/or being released, what comes next? What can we expect from you in the future?

2015 looks to be an exciting year for me. I’ve just been signed by U.S. publishers Booktrope – who will be re-releasing The Phoenix Project and A Chronicle of Chaos later this year. I also have another two books in The Light and Shadow Chronicles fully written and in the editing stages. At present, I have no release date for either book as I am concentrating on the Booktrope re-releases, but they will hopefully be this year. I am also writing a short story to go with the series.

 

  1. How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

 

A lot! The plot of The Phoenix Project came from a mixture of my interests – Roman history (in particular the gladiators), politics, religion, dystopian fiction and films. At university I became engrossed in books such as 1984 and A Clockwork Orange and I feel that the atmosphere in these books was a great inspiration for the tone of my novel. I also wrote a lot of my own opinions into the book – through the voice of one character or another.

As for A Chronicle of Chaos (and the whole fantasy series), these stories were always part of my childhood. Me and my friend used to spend hours thinking of characters and stories in our huge fantasy world. They were just silly ideas back then, but I’ve stuck with them, fleshed them out and made them more mature, and that magic I felt as a child is still there now when I’m writing.

 

  1. Do you have a set schedule for writing or do you just go with the flow?

I’ve tried to establish a writing routine, but that just doesn’t work for me. I can’t force myself to write, if I’m not feeling it. I can only write when the moment takes me, and when it does, I make a run at it! That means I sometimes go weeks without writing a thing, then have a week where I do nothing but write. I do particularly like to settle down at my laptop with a glass of wine and some inspirational music and write late into Friday and Saturday night, and I also love to take myself out to a coffee shop and write for hours on end. I think I need to be inspired to write properly and, for me, the best writing I ever did was when I was travelling Europe on the inter-rail for 6 weeks. I wrote chapter after chapter just watching the fields, rivers, mountains and gorges roll past.

 

  1. What about you in general? What is it that makes you tick? Makes you, you? Things you like to do and what prompted you into writing?

I’m a huge geek and there’s nothing I love more than being fully immersed in something and attaching your heart and soul to it. I’m like that with games, films, TV shows, books – pretty much everything. If I find something I love, I REALLY love it and go over the top geeky with my obsession. I think that’s what led to me creating this fantasy series – it wasn’t enough for me just to write one story. Every character, place and event in history needed fleshing out thoroughly. I have lived and breathed this fantasy world for the past 15 years of my life – and it’s my geekiness that has helped me in that!

 

  1. Among your own books, have you a favourite book? Favourite Hero or Heroine?

I think The Phoenix Project is my ‘best’ book – it has the most integrity as a novel, I think. And I am very attached to it as it was my first story and I feel a close personal connection with my protagonist.

However, I enjoy writing my fantasy series far more. Because it is such a rich world for me, I love throwing myself into it and writing away. So I am particularly fond of A Chronicle of Chaos as it is the first in this series.

I have a number of favourite characters in the series (some of which readers will already know, some which haven’t been introduced yet!) – Mikhail, Anathema, Raven, Damocles and Aleiselle are probably my personal favourites.

In The Phoenix Project I don’t really like any of the characters that much! I think all of them are flawed. But if I had to pick, I’d say Alexia is my favourite (plus, I have a sneaky little crush on Khan – bad guy though he is!)

 

  1. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Hopefully, I will have released a further 3-4 novels and a handful of short stories with my wonderful publisher Booktrope. If things were to go incredibly well for me, maybe I could even quit my full time day job and write for a living. That would be amazing! I’m putting together a kids book at the moment and I think that might be the key to me getting somewhere with my writing. But we’ll have to wait and see!

 

  1. What kind of research do you when writing one of your works?

I actually did a lot of travelling whilst I was writing The Phoenix Project and the various places I visited added a lot of depth and extra detail to the book. For example, on a long inter-railing trip across Europe I visited Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp which had a profound impact on me, and gave me lots of ways to make the prison more inhumane and horrifying.

 

  1. What does your significant other think of your writing?

I think he’s proud of me. He is very artistic and creative and has written 3 novels himself, however he isn’t interested in having them published. When we first met, we used to spend a lot of time reading and critiquing each other’s work, but we don’t do that as much now. Daily life gets in the way!

  1. Have you ever experienced Writer’s Block? If so how did you work through it?

I’m lucky enough to have never really suffered with writer’s block. I sometimes struggle to concentrate, or I have difficulty approaching a certain scene or character. But I find that usually is a problem with my state of mind, and if I force myself to sit down and just write, I can usually overcome it.

 

  1. Who are some of your favourite authors to read?

Suzanne Collins, Philip Pullman, Terry Brooks, Stewart Bint, Sharon Sant, C.L. Schneider. And a few of the greats – Oscar Wilde, William Shakespeare, Thomas Hardy.

Additional question: Lastly do you have any words of encouragement for unpublished writers?

Never, ever, ever, give up. If you are meant to be a writer, it won’t just be a tiny hobby, it will be a burning compulsion for your stories to break out of you. However, this is a tough business and at times it is unfulfilling and downright disheartening, and that passionate buzz for writing can dwindle. Don’t let it. Nurture it. Remember what you’re writing for. The promoting, marketing, social media etc is important for sales – but not for your craft. When the daily slog of marketing etc is getting you down, pick up a pen and do what you’re actually here to do – write. It’ll remind you why you’re putting yourself through all of this.

Now sadly our time is coming to a close, so how about another cover art, a quick bio and throw in some social media links and purchase links:

 

Biography

D.M. Cain has been writing since the age of thirteen, but her first full length novel was self-published in May 2014. ‘The Phoenix Project’ is a psychological thriller set in a dystopian future.

Her second book, released in October 2014, was ‘A Chronicle of Chaos’ – the first in a dark fantasy series. In February 2015, she began to work with U.S. publisher Booktrope.

She is currently working on the next novel in the series – ‘The Shield of Soren’ and a short story to accompany it.

Cain lives in Leicestershire, UK with her husband and young son, and spends her time reading, writing and reviewing books, playing RPGs and listening to symphonic metal.

Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DMCainauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DMCain84

Mailing List: http://eepurl.com/XevZH

Website: www.dmcain84.com

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+DMCain/posts

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7888430.D_M_Cain

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/D.M.-Cain/e/B00LTTX3PA/

Phoenix Project

The Phoenix Project: http://www.amazon.com/Phoenix-Project-D-M-Cain-ebook/dp/B00K974TOM/

A Chronicle of Chaos: http://www.amazon.com/Chronicle-Chaos-Light-Shadow-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00NJ89B8M/

Sadly I am out of time to continue, as I currently have a million and one thing to do in nowhere near enough time, but as always, a pleasure to have a gifted author join me here and to have all of you as well, till next time peeps.

Rochford out.

 

Leave a Reply

