Rochford Direct – 08.12.15 (Announcement & the 1st Direct)

Good morning. Good afternoon and Good night. My name is Rocky Rochford, both a name and a mantle, which one day will be passed to another, but that day has yet to come.Rocky Rochford

 

For those of you who don’t know anything about me, I am a former journalist, a scuba diver, sword collector and other things I won’t get into right now, but I am also an Author! And no matter which author you ask, we’ll all tell you the same thing, “Writing the book is just the first step.” Being an author is about being a business manager, a publicist, an agent and more.

 

Writing the book, editing it just so you can bring a new world to life in ours, that really is an easy part! All that aside, knowing and saying it is one thing, but actually doing it and everything the doing entails, are complete different things.

 

But even then, even if you are the best salesman or just a really great person, that’s no guarantee that you will be seen and your work will be read, in a world full of celebrities, to truly establish yourself as a successful author, first you have to establish yourself as a person, then a celebrity, then an author.

 

Just take a look at how many authors who are getting notice at the moment, they are all actors or comedians or singers, who after years of building a fan base, some of them think they can write and some get others to write about them and stamp their name all over it. Choosing between a children’s book by an unknown author, or a children’s book by the likes of Katie Price, a lot of people have been known to go between the latter and in all honesty, a lot of the books we do get from celebrities, we can do with out.

 

One Direction were out for one year before they put out their autobiography. Most people wait until the end of their natural life, others put a new one out every decade, but to do it after a year it is tasteless and a slap in the face for the writers out there who can write because as long as celebrities keep putting their books out there, their life stories for us to go mad over, a lot of talented writers will go their entire life unnoticed.

 

Writing is a hard market to get into and swimming through this ocean full of currents that wish to send you into depression and despair, with nothing but failure to greet you at the bottom.  Fame is a status us the general public elevate people too, without the likes of us, they would still be just like the rest of us. We can make people, we can break people, we make the Heroes who inspire us, stop playing the safe option, step out from the shadows and read an indie author today. Better yet, support an indie author today.

2.jpg

 

As for stepping out of the shadows, today I am doing just that. I hate talking about myself, about my past and my experiences, I am a very private person and yet if I am to be an author, I have to get past that, in order to be an author, I have to Be an author so now I am. I am casting light in my kingdom of Darkness and I am prepared to do everything that is required of me, starting by giving the public what it deserves.

 

Do you know why the likes of Apple, Microsoft and even Playstation are so successful? It’s not just about the products they put out that are either terrible, or fantastic, but their whole approach to it, even video game companies approach to promoting their products, games. The approach of public demonstrations, continuous announcement and news reveals, which some times are the smallest of things, but they drive us all crazy anyway.

1

And in all honesty, it is exactly the same approach one should take with books because books are video games for the mind and from now on it is exactly what I am going to do. If Nintendo can have their Nintendo Directs, I can have my Rochford Directs, a web news vlog, which you will be able to follow on youtube.

 

A series of vlogs which will feature all of my major news regarding my works already released and the ones to follow soon. There will even be trailer showings, reviews, photos and so much more, which includes open polls in which you the public will get the chance to vote on what my next work will be called, what genre it should be. I’m only answering to one entirety now and that entirety is all of you.

 

In today’s Rochford Direct, more of an announcement video, I spoke about the release of the Eye of Mares, my final book of the year, which is out on December the 10th, available in both ebook and Print. Also on that day, I will be heading to Gibraltar, as part of my annual December visit, and with my I will be taking copies of London Calling and letting the book hit the town in a cheeky “on the street” photo tour.

 

Also announced is later on this month, around the 12th to the 15th of anatomyDecember there will be a second and much larger Rochford Direct, where I will be talking about the Eye of Mares in more detail, talking about the blog tour it is undergoing and why it is worthy of discussion and I will even be revealing what I am working on this very month, as well as voicing my review on Anatomy of a Darkened Heart by Christie Stratos.

 

The Directs will take place on both my blog, but also on my youtube, so be sure to follow because now you won’t just know of the released works, but about the man behind them and the works that will soon follow and other things that will come to light.

 

 

Now if its a bio you’re after it’s only fitting I post one along with my complete 2016 collection, so here it is:

 

Biography:

Rocky Rocky RochfordRochford is your standard guy, if your standard guy scuba dives, partakes in underwater photographer and is a wake-boarding, adventure seeking, sword collecting, marine conservation supporter. After living life on the road and the places between, he finally settled down but not without benefiting from all the lessons life had to teach him.

Self-professed “Student of Everything, and Master of Nothing,” Rochford does not choose what he writes, but writes what chooses him, be it fantasy, crime, poetry, philosophy or even adventure. Life is a journey we all get to experience, just like a good book.

Every read into another of his typed works is another trip into the imagination of his mixed up, crazed and deranged mind and this year along those works include the likes of full novels and novellas such as:

London Calling – a Deep Water Novel (Spy Thriller)

Don’t Even Blink – Part of the Don’t Turn Around Trilogy (Horror)

Wait and Bleed – The Don’t Turn Around Collection (Horror collection of the entire Don’t Trilogy)

And now The Eye of Mares – Book 2 of the Rise of the Elohim Chronicles (Illustrated YA fantasy adventure)Wait and Bleed

 

 

Other works released by him, are a number of short stories pertaining to horror, paranormal and romance, as well as other works released as part of an anthology:

The Devil You Know (Paranormal short)

Salt in the Wound – Part of the Entwined Saga (Paranormal short)

The Food of Love (featuring Him & Her) – An Anthology by Solstice Publishing (Romance filled Anthology)

Him & Her (Romance Standalone release)

Don’t Say A Word (Horror)

Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep Volume II (featuring The Devil Before) – An Anthology by the Solstice Shadows (Paranormal themed Anthology)

awethologyDARKAwethology Dark (featuring Ghosts) – An Anthology by the #Awethors (Adult stories pertaining to a darker theme)

The December Awethology Dark Volume (featuring Seven Years Bad Luck) – An Anthology by the #Awethors (Adult stories pertaining to a darker theme, set around December)

 

****Welcome to the World of Rochford****

 

 

 

You can find all of my Social media links below, including my Youtube account:

 

Rocky Rochford’s website: rockyrochford.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IamRockyRochford/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RockyRochford

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7310280.Rocky_Rochford

Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/Rocky-Rochford/e/B00O3AA3KU/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1449272442&sr=8-1

Youtube:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgZ41-Nm4GS0buZ5QP3ZAxg

 

Leave a Reply

